Food Is Not Your Enemy


Recipes for Great Breakfast Smoothies
October 27, 2014, 11:17 am
Filed under: Dairy, Fruits, Healthy Lifestyle, nuts, Recipes | Tags: ,

I used to be a cold cereal eater. I grew up on Froot Loops, Apple Jacks, and Cocoa Puffs. In college, my best friend and I ate this stuff called Just Right every single day without fail. As an adult, I drifted from one cold cereal to another, never questioning the idea that cereal should be my breakfast—if Rice Krispies left me hungry in one hour, for instance, then I’d just get a bagel with cream cheese as a second breakfast. After I became a holistic nutrition counselor, I finally did start to ask if cold cereal was the best breakfast for me, and began to move toward healthier fare, like oatmeal with flaxseeds, walnuts, and raisins.

But one day I started to notice that, as healthy as oatmeal is, I was getting hungry 90 minutes or so after eating it, and sometimes my blood sugar even dipped very low at that time, to the point where I felt a little shaky. Oatmeal is wonderful for some people, I realized, but it wasn’t the perfect breakfast for me.

What has turned out to be the perfect breakfast for me (and my husband) is a homemade smoothie. I feel very satisfied after drinking it, and stay full up until lunch. There’s something about the combination of ingredients that I throw in the blender that just really works for me.

So what’s in my morning smoothie? I vary it a bit every day. Here is the template I use to make a 16 oz. serving:

Toss into your blender…

One ripe banana

Then pick another fruit…

½ cup of blueberries, strawberries, mixed berries, mango, or melon all work nicely

Then choose a nut butter…

2 tablespoons of almond butter or coconut butter are my favorites

Sprinkle in seeds…

1 tablespoon of chia, hemp, or flax seeds

Select a liquid…

About 1/2 cup of unsweetened nut milk (I like almond milk) plus ½ cup of water, or 1 cup of plain kefir (if I use kefir, I tend to skip the nut butter)

And lastly…

Add a few ice cubes if you’d like

Blend it all until smooth and you’ve got yourself a super healthy, stick-to-your-ribs breakfast in five minutes!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

